OC Music Contributions Recognized At State Conference

Oklahoma Christian’s department of music had a very successful and busy week. Three symphonic band majors performed in the Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honor Band in Tulsa at the meeting of the Oklahoma Music Educators Association last Thursday. OC’s entire symphonic band, as well as the Chorale, led by Dr. Ken Adams, also performed at OC’s Libertas Dinner, which honored former President Ronald Reagan that night.

In addition, the Oklahoma Community Orchestra was selected as an honor performing group at the OMEA conference Thursday night. This was the first time in more than 20 years that a musical group affiliated with OC has been invited to perform. The OCO is comprised of current students, faculty, alumni and community members from Oklahoma City. OC’s music professor, Dr. John Fletcher, is the conductor.

“Our faculty, staff and students really rose to the occasion for these special events,” said Fletcher. “They eagerly went above and beyond what is simply required in pursuing opportunities to excel, and to promote our music program and the university.”

The OCO consists of musicians in the greater Oklahoma City area that seek to promote the performing arts and provide quality performances of symphonic literature at a nominal charge to the community. Approximately 70 musicians perform in the orchestra and most performances are at Oklahoma Christian University.

The OMEA is the state affiliate of MENC: The National Affiliation for Music Education, which is among the world’s largest arts education organizations. Through membership of more than 75,000 music teachers, and with 60,000 honor students and supporters, MENC serves millions of students nationwide.


Photo: OU music professor Michael Raiber, left, presents OC music professor John Fletcher with a certificate from the Oklahoma Music Educators Association. Raiber is a board member of the group that recognized the Oklahoma Community Orchestra as an honor performing group. Fletcher conducts the OCO, which also includes OC faculty, students and alumni.