Endecott becomes 3rd Rose State baseball player to sign with OC

Rose State pitcher Dillon Endecott has signed a letter of intent to play baseball at OC.
Rose State pitcher Dillon Endecott has signed a letter of intent to play baseball at OC.

MIDWEST CITY, Okla. (Aug. 9, 2013) – A third Rose State baseball player has signed a letter of intent to play at Oklahoma Christian, as pitcher Dillon Endecott of McLoud will join the OC squad, coach Lonny Cobble said Friday.

Endecott joins infielder Jackson Matthews and utility player Tanner Hessman in making the move from the junior college in Midwest City to OC for the 2014 season.

Cobble compared Endecott to Chris Burgess, who went 7-0 with a school-record nine saves last spring during his only season at OC. Burgess was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies in the 26th round and is with their Class A affiliate in Lakewood, N.J.

“Endecott will be a closer-type guy,” Cobble said. “He throws hard and is a workhorse-type kid. We thought about using him as a starter, but as hard as he throws, and since he has the hard-nosed mentality Burgess had, we’re hoping that he’ll be our closer.”

As a sophomore at Rose State, Endecott went 2-5 with a 5.46 ERA and 38 strikeouts in 57 2/3 innings. He was used primarily as a starter, with nine starts among his 11 appearances for the Raiders He threw a one-hit shutout with six strikeouts in a win over Carl Albert State on March 29.

At McLoud High School, he went 9-1 as a senior with a 1.28 ERA and 140 strikeouts in 78 innings. He also hit .422 with 14 home runs and 16 doubles. He was named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association’s Large East All-State team, received honorable mention on The Oklahoman’s All-State team and was a reserve member of the newspaper’s Little All-City honor squad.

At OC, Endecott will join a team that went 26-26 during Cobble’s first season as coach and qualified for the National Christian College Athletic Association World Series, the program’s first national postseason appearance in 41 years. OC is about to enter the second year of the three-year NCAA Division II membership process.