deSteiguer named to Oklahoma State Fair board

John deSteiguer
John deSteiguer

Courtesy of the Oklahoma State Fair

Chairman of the Board Ronald J. Norick announced recently that the Oklahoma State Fair Board of Directors has added, by unanimous approval, two prominent Oklahoma City civic and business leaders - Michelle Coppedge and John deSteiguer - to their ranks.

“Although both of these individuals are relatively new to their respective positions, both have shown proven leadership skills in their professional careers and in the community,” Norick said. “We look forward to involving Michelle and John in the operations of Oklahoma State Fair Inc. These are exciting times for us at State Fair Park as we continue to grow both the facilities and the operation.”

Coppedge was named the director of the Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center in Oklahoma City in April 2013. In 2010, she was selected into the FAA’s Senior Executive Service and was the Program Director of the Logistics Center (FAALC) at the Aeronautical Center. Prior to this role, she served as the Deputy Director for the FAALC.

She is married to Bill Coppedge and they have two children.

deSteiguer became the seventh president of Oklahoma Christian University in May 2012. A native of Tahlequah, deSteiguer has spent almost two decades in higher education. He served Northeastern State University, his alma mater, as the Director of Development from 1993 to 2002 before coming to Oklahoma Christian.

deSteiguer is a member of several civic organizations, including the Oklahoma Bar Association, the Oklahoma Planned Giving Council, the Edmond Rotary Club and the Edmond Area Chamber of Commerce, where he serves as vice chairman for governmental relations.

He and his wife Darla have two children and live in Edmond, where John is a deacon at Memorial Road Church of Christ.

In addition to re-electing Ron Norick as chairman, the board also elected the following slate of officers: David Thompson, vice chairman; E. Carey Joullian IV, vice chairman; G. Rainey Williams, Jr., treasurer; Tim O’Toole, president and CEO; and Melissa L. Sikking, corporate secretary.

The Oklahoma State Fair Board of Directors oversees Oklahoma State Fair, Inc., which is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation that is dedicated to continuing the organization’s heritage of education, entertainment and economic development.