Arrese Cortadellas, Harper honored on All-Heartland Conference teams

OC sophomore Anna Arrese Cortadellas was named as a first-team All-Heartland Conference player on Tuesday.
OC sophomore Anna Arrese Cortadellas was named as a first-team All-Heartland Conference player on Tuesday.

WACO, Texas (April 23, 2013) – Oklahoma Christian women’s golfers Anna Arrese Cortadellas and Sarah Harper were honored Tuesday on the All-Heartland Conference teams.

Arrese Cortadellas, a sophomore from Barcelona, Spain, made the five-player first team, while Harper, a senior from Duncan, made the five-player second team.

OC players were not considered for individual awards, which prevented Arrese Cortadellas from taking home player of the year honors. Her stroke average of 74.8 was the conference’s best by more than one shot per round and currently ranks seventh in NCAA Division II.

Arrese Cortadellas finished in the top 10 in all 10 tournaments in which she played during the 2012-13 season, winning three times. She earned National Christian College Athletic Association All-America honors and was named as the NCCAA student-athlete of the week six times.

The all-conference honor was the second in as many years for Arrese Cortadellas, who was the medalist at last year’s Sooner Athletic Conference Championship.

Harper finished with a stroke average of 77.9, ninth-best in the conference. She posted six top-10 finishes in 11 tournaments, highlighted by a third-place showing in the Diffee Ford-Lincoln Invitational at Kickingbird Golf Course in Edmond.

Joining Arrese Cortadellas on the first-team list were Mercedes Rios of Dallas Baptist (Texas) and three players from St. Edward’s (Texas), Ryanne Haddow, Wallis Spears and Haley Haught. Spears, whose stroke average was 75.9, was named as the player of the year. Rios was the medalist at the Heartland Conference Championship tournament, which ended Tuesday at The Golf Club of Dallas.

The second-team list consisted of Harper, Sydney Williams of Dallas Baptist, Melisa Gonzalez of St. Edward’s and two players from Newman (Kan.), Linzi Allen and Megan Birdsey. Williams was named as the freshman of the year.

Coach of the year honors went to Jennifer McNeil of St. Edward’s.