Pi Sigma Alpha

Oklahoma Christian University received the charter for the Alpha Delta Rho chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, National Political Science Honors Society, in October, 2006.  Since that time, members have made great strides in undergraduate work and graduate studies.  Members have been accepted to graduate programs at Harvard University, Chicago University, University of Texas-Austin, Texas Tech University, University of California-San Diego, Oklahoma University, Kansas State University, and The University of Kent in Brussels, Belgium.  Members have also been accepted to law schools such as the University of Virginia, Georgetown, George Mason, George Washington, William and Mary, Emory, Oklahoma University, Oklahoma City University, University of New Hampshire, Baylor, Texas Tech, Notre Dame, Southern Methodist University, and University of Tulsa.

The chapter has been particularly active in the Southwestern Model Arab League competition, an intercollegiate competition of research and debate.  In April, 2011, OC’s team came in second place behind only the National winners.  Since then, the OC team has been second to none, winning the Outstanding Delegation Award at the Southwest Regional competition for six years in a row, 2012-2017.  In 2017, 8 of 10 won Outstanding Delegate awards.

Pi Sigma Alpha also sponsors a campus wide debate during the Fall and Spring semester.  This is open to all students for participation.  The fall topics are usually global in nature, while the spring topics are specific to Oklahoma Christian.  Chapter members also provided tutoring to students in Intro to American Government again this year.

In November, 2017, members of Alpha Delta Rho attended the Oklahoma Political Science Association meeting and presented their scholarship.  Only five undergraduates presented at this conference; 3 were Alpha Delta Rho members.  Under the sponsorship of new political science professor Harold “Trey” Orndorff, this activity will continue and others begun.